Friday, August 7, 2020

Mental health discrimination in higher ed

Home Forums Community Mental health discrimination in higher ed

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Just curious if anyone out there has been forced out of higher education for their mental illness?

kumininexile
    Participant

Between 1971 and 2000, I attended four different colleges without ever emerging from any of them with a diploma. At the last school I attended, (Morgan State University,) I spent a total of 12 years there due to the fact that I was merely a part time student. Though I completed all the work for a B.S. in mental health, I still did not receive the degree. Morgan State is a historically black state university at which I was a white minority student.

At first, things went perfectly well for me as I knocked down one course after another in pursuit of my degree. There was a woman in the counseling office who acted as an on-campus advocate for me the entire time I was a student there. Initially, she and I got along very nicely together and during the years in which I was a student there, she intervened in many conflicts I had with students and faculty. Accommodations were made for me in terms of lengths of time afforded me to complete assignments.

Midway through my tenure at Morgan, I reached a point in my personal life in which I decided I needed to write a revealing autobiography in order to document, substantiate, and justify the life I had been forced to survive as a mental patient. I wrote this book, self-published it, and sold many copies of it in the Baltimore area. Subsequently, the book became notorious. My professors at Morgan were enthralled with this accomplishment, and were utterly congratulatory towards me for what I had done.

Therein, began trouble between my on-campus advocate and I. This woman was thoroughly offended by the necessarily bombastic remarks I had made in the book, and the politics I expressed therein. She turned against me.