Saturday, April 4, 2020

Thank you, MIA Community

Home Forums Community Thank you, MIA Community

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    uprising
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I am new to commenting here, but have been reading this site thoroughly since late winter of this year. Not long before that, I was completely unaware that there was any kind of c/s/x movement, any objective critiques of biomedical psychiatry, or any viable alternatives to the current dominant system of “care.” I had for years been almost completely ignorant of the context in which so many important decisions in my life had been made. I had not yet read Mad In America or Anatomy of an Epidemic. Actually, from 2010 to late 2012, I was incapable of reading much of anything, due to severe, debilitating withdrawal symptoms from Remeron and Paxil, not to mention withdrawal from alcohol, which had become a euphoric in combination with Paxil. Earlier, in 2010, I had come to the conclusion on my own, and with minimal support, that I had to get off of the psych drugs I had been prescribed in various combinations since 1998. By listening to my body, rather than the “experts,” I had finally figured out that they had made me sick, were keeping me sick, and would eventually kill me.